Nothing I Haven’t Heard Before

While out at dinner tonight, we overheard the lovely couple next to us having a conversation about travel. Specifically, why Japanese people shouldn’t travel.

Actual quotes of distinction:
“Japanese people who live overseas come back weird.”
and
“Japanese going overseas is dame.” Literally, “undesirable” or “in bad taste,” in this context.

In bad taste. Would you sit down a your local restaurant and tell your companion, “Fuck, I wish the nips would stay on their shitty little archipelago”?

I devoutly hope not. I think public racism is in bad taste, myself. Yeah, I’m weird like that.

The sentiment is something I’m used to, sadly, but I’ll never understand the sheer obliviousness. Never occurs to them that the foreign couple on their left might understand Japanese. It’s like going to Southern California and yelling SPICS SPICS BEANERS SPICE TACO-BENDING SPICS and who in their right mind would do that?

But, hey, Japan: if that’s how you feel, please DON’T go abroad!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment